Thespian Troupe #3842

The INTERNATIONAL THESPIAN SOCIETY is a worldwide organization that honors secondary school students for outstanding achievement in theatre. The Society aims to advance standards of excellence in all phases of theatre arts in order to create an active and intelligent interest in theatre arts at the high school level.

Troupe #3842

Students become eligible for membership based on participation in the WHS theatre program:

  • Participation in a MINIMUM of two shows
  • Minimum of ten points earned through theatrical work
  • Participation in TWO DIFFERENT areas of theatre

(for example, acting and lighting or publicity and shift crew)

Thespian affiliation offers students the following benefits:

  • One year subscription to Dramatics magazine (renewable after that)
  • Membership/recognition in the only international organization devoted to theatre arts in the secondary school
  • Framework for recognizing dramatic honors through stars and honor bars
  • Certificates of membership
  • Conferences such as the annual Iowa Thespian Festival and International Festival
  • Eligibility for Thespian scholarship fund

2020-2021 Troupe #3842 Officers

President: Abby Wagner
Vice President: Anna Spahn
Officers: Flora Wahlert, Anna Ottavi, Cam Queck, Michelle Carpenter, Ella Schmidt, Brady McSerrin, Johnny Freund

Detailed Thespian Position Breakdown

Iowa Thespian Festival

Thespian Festival

The Iowa Thespian Festival is a weekend filled with performances, auditions, workshops, and nearly 1,000 theatre students from across the state of Iowa. The Iowa Thespian Festival is an annual event sponsored by the Iowa Educational Theatre Association held on the campus of the University of Northern Iowa.

This year's festival will take place VIRTUALLY throughout the month of March in 2021 due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Congratulations to these students who excelled at the Iowa Thespian competition:

Solo Musical Theatre

1st: Johnny Freund ("Confrontation" from Jekyll & Hyde)
2nd: Tie between:
Josh Chapman ("Reviewing the Situation" from Oliver)
Brady McSperrin("Betrayed" from The Producers)

Duet Musical Theatre:

3rd Place: Anna Spahn & Abby Wagner ("Some Things are Meant to Be" from Little Women)

Group Musical Theatre:

3rd Place: Tie -"Lady in the Long Black Dress" from Sister Act (Featuring Johnny Freund, Aidan Dolan & Brady McSperrin)


1st Place: Tie - Josh Chapman (Lovers & Other Strangers/The Shape of Things)

These performances were Ranked Overall Superior & qualified for the National Individual Events:

Monologue: Josh Chapman

Solo Musical Theatre: Johnny Freund, Brady McSperrin, Josh Chapman, Luke Heying ("You'll Be Back" from Hamilton)